What is the Florida 10-20-Life Law?
Under the Florida 10-20-Life law, you face enhanced charges and penalties. It is vital for any Jacksonville defendant facing felony charges under this law to seek experienced legal representation from Jacksonville criminal defense lawyers.
Florida statute 775.087 explains what has come to be known as Florida’s 10-20-Life Law. The Florida legislature passed the law in 1999. Statistics showed that 31,643 violent felonies using guns were committed in Florida in 1998. The legislature passed the 10-20-Life law as a deterrent. This law increases charges and penalties for anyone committing a felony while possessing a firearm and sets mandatory minimum sentencing. Whenever anyone carries, displays, uses, threatens, attempts to use or uses a firearm during the commission of a felony, charges become reclassified as follows:
- First-degree felony becomes a life felony
- Second-degree felony becomes a first-degree felony
- Third-degree felony becomes a second-degree felony
The 10-20-Life law establishes numerous penalties for mandatory sentencing in a variety of felonies. Mere possession of a firearm, whether a part of the felony commission or not, carries a mandatory sentence of 10 years in prison for crimes such as murder, sexual battery, robbery, burglary arson, aggravated assault, drug trafficking and a number of other crimes listed in the statute. For individuals who discharge a firearm or destructive device during the commission of a felony, the minimum prison sentence is 20 years. For individuals who discharge a firearm or destructive device during the commission of a felony and it results in death or great bodily injury, the minimum prison sentence is 25 years and maximum is not greater than life in prison.
A criminal defense attorney in Jacksonville can investigate the circumstances involved with your alleged felony and develop strategies to defend your rights.
Robert Shafer & Associates has decades of experience handling criminal cases and provides clients with a strong defense.